Author Topic: log in / hotspot  (Read 3459 times)

LordS1mack

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« on: February 11, 2011, 12:19:29 am »
OK. I want anyone on my network who wants to get online to log in. I'm new to Zentyal so I'm a little lost. Under Web/ HTTP proxy on products like smoothwall ( with advanced proxy mod) and Microteck products there is a section to select how and if you would like your users to log in to access the web.  Where can I find this on Zetyal's software?  I have fooled around with the Radius and PAN settings but I can still access the web with out authentication.

Escorpiom

• Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Re: log in / hotspot
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 04:32:43 am »
The hotspot function is not yet implemented.
There is another topic about authentication with Freeradius, but we haven't made much progress either.
I would like to use this also, I'm using Zentyal in a hotel were we have fixed clients (personnel) and guest access for our clients.
For the fixed clients I use IP/MAC binding and then block all else on the firewall. Works a charm, but for the guests I have not found a suitable way to make them login using credentials.

Cheers.

Marcus' Rule:
Blanks & capitals = avoid it and you'll avoid problems...

LordS1mack

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 08:02:24 am »
That sucks. I dumped my smoothwall for the zentyal bacuse of the newer kernals and hardware support. They even list it in their feature list:
 ◦HTTP proxy
■Internet cache
■User authentication
■Content filtering (with categorized lists)
■Transparent antivirus
■Delay pools

Escorpiom

• Zen Hero
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2011, 05:19:30 am »
Yeah it does suck.
The user authentication does work, but only if you set the HTTP proxy to non-transparent mode and set the default policy to "authorize".