Author Topic: [SOLVED] Where the Zentyal module configuration saved?  (Read 9668 times)

rockyzhangxq

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] Where the Zentyal module configuration saved?
« on: December 08, 2010, 07:27:19 pm »
Hi Guys,

I am new to Zentyal. I played with the box for a while, and would like to add my own configuration before the server initialize (e.g. add DHCP configuration there); I noticed that if I change something manually (e.g. edit /etc/dhcp3/dhcpd.conf), it will override after one login to the web UI. Is there anyway I can keep my customized configuration and show up when one log in the web UI?

I have no idea how perl script work in Zentyal; It use postgresql to save module configuration data? or some temporary directory?

Any hint/help will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Rocky
« Last Edit: December 16, 2010, 09:02:03 pm by rockyzhangxq »

Javier Amor Garcia

• Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Re: Where the Zentyal module configuration saved?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2010, 03:00:01 pm »
Zentyal uses redis to save its configuration, when you save or restart any module, the stored configuration is used to regenerate the configuration files. This configuration files are written using templates, sio if you want to change the configuration files you must modify the tempkates.

Here you have more information:  http://trac.zentyal.org/wiki/Document/HowTo/ChangeEboxTemplates

rockyzhangxq

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2010, 04:38:24 pm »
Thank you so much, Javier. You save me tons of hours. Will look into it right away.

rockyzhangxq

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2010, 05:09:11 pm »
Hi Javier,