Author Topic: Only install Samba  (Read 2400 times)

rgotten

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Only install Samba
« on: May 13, 2008, 10:20:08 pm »
I am new to all this, including linux. I just finished playing and configuring my raid system. Raid 1 100 mb for /boot, raid 1 2gb for swap, raid 5 10gb for /, and raid 5 986 gb for /home. After reading and installing Ubuntu server 8.04, decided to install ebox for a try. I have isntalled everything with ebox, and to start i believe i only need samba to use the server as a file server. How can i do to only install SAMBA and in the future if i need install the other components.

Thanks

rgotten

Javier Amor Garcia

• Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Re: Only install Samba
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 08:35:46 am »
You need to go to the software module and remove all modules except filesharing and his dependencies.

rgotten

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2008, 06:51:40 pm »
Like I said, i am very new to this. How can i know which are the dependencies and also if i am new to samba, how can i configure samba thru box.
Also if i need to use  terminal or command prompt, how can you do this from ebox?

Thanks

rgotten

eDRoaCH

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2008, 05:08:31 am »
If all you want out of this is samba (aka not using DHCP, gateway, or anything else) then you should probably just configure samba, which was probably already installed when you installed linux. Just google up a good tutorial for samba on ubuntu.

eBox has a lot of cool features for a home/business gateway/firewall, and if thats what youre after I dont think youll be dissapointed. But if all you want is samba eBox is probably overkill.

rgotten

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2008, 05:34:05 am »
You need to go to the software module and remove all modules except filesharing and his dependencies.

How do i now which one are the dependencies of Samba