Author Topic: 3G failover  (Read 1920 times)

xoff

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
3G failover
« on: September 23, 2013, 10:56:54 pm »
Hi,

I am new to Zentyal server, but so far loving every bit of it.    There is just one thing I am not sure about,  after reading the docs,  searching forums, blog posts etc.  Maybe this has been answered somewhere, but I would appreciate if someone could shed some light.

I have configured Zentyal 3.2 as Gateway,  to load balance between 2 ADSL connections.   
In addition,  I have a 3rd gateway using a 3G/HSPA USB stick.  I want the latter to act as a backup/failover gateway ONLY when both the ADSL lines go down.

I don't want the 3G/HSPA connection to be load balanced,  it should only be used in case both the ADSL lines go down (3G bandwidth a lot more expensive).

Can anyone advice how to go about configuring this?   I was thinking about using the max weight for the 2 ADSL connections (15) - but given the amount of bandwidth is used,  a 1/15th usage on 3G is still too expensive not ideal for us. 

Thank you 

jbahillo

• Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Re: 3G failover
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2013, 01:37:23 am »
Hi there:

I don't think zentyal can handle this in this kind of situations. Instead you can find even SOHO  lowcost DSL routers that can do this for you

zachso

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2013, 01:01:20 am »
I have a shellscript in cron (every five minutes) for this, it pings a few servers and if none works, it assumes network connection is down. it then starts the ppp connection script for the 3G connection and does some stuff like opening a reverse ssh connection to another server. I'm only using this as backup remote control, but you should get a similar thing to work for you.

BrettonWoods

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2013, 01:14:14 am »
Would be great if you could have a weight of zero, that would only use if all failed.

hayedid

• Zen Apprentice