Author Topic: no internet  (Read 5233 times)

boardgame

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
no internet
« on: August 21, 2009, 06:36:54 am »
so i can't get internet..  The dashboard shows my external IP address so i am communicating with the modem..

I figure it is a dns issue..   When i go to make dns changes and save i get this error:

"Some modules reported error when saving changes . More information on the logs in /var/log/ebox/

An error happened trying to set the default gateway. Make sure the gateway you specified is reachable."

my default gate is 192.168.1.1 and it is pingable..  ive had to take down my ebox until i figure this one out..

I'm trying to make the changes under network-> dns..

what am i doing wrong.. never had this much trouble with a firewall before..  also im new to ebox.. was on endian before this or should i say i'm on it now..

any help would be great.. i really want to get this up and running.

boardgame

javi

• Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Re: no internet
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2009, 02:14:17 pm »
Do you have any interface configured via DHCP?

boardgame

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2009, 08:35:47 pm »
I did have dhcp configured.. it was giving out my ip.. i just didnt have internet..  well i got fed up and reinstalled the software..  which solved that problem.. now i have another problem..  i install the ebox stuff.  I go to the admin page and when i try to setup the dhcp now i hit save and i lose the admin page for good and dhcp won't start in the command line..

Just a thought tell me if i am wrong but im trying to set this up over wireless...  maybe not all the commands are making it to the ebox and causing a crash of some sort.. im not a linux guru so fixing in command line isn't easy for me..

im about to go and install it again and try to fix it... but everytime i go to save my dhcp setup i lose the web admin page for good now... i don't understand.

my dhcp setup
eth1
static