Author Topic: DNS registration of eth2 interface manifest in VPN problem  (Read 3253 times)

vitaebela

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Hi all,

I'm new to Zendial so please have understandig if i ask for something stupid. Im testing zentyal in lab enviroment and I can only say that he is so AMAZING that I did not played Battlefield for past two weeks since I installed Zentyal :). All features ar up and running as expect the one problem regarding VPN clients dns resolving.

Here is my scenario:

Zendyal server (lab enviroment) zentyal.test.com
eth0 192.168.10.1
eth2 192.168.16.1
eth1 10.9.1.1 (WAN) connected to IPCop firewall

Networks
192.168.10.0/24 internal network
192.168.12.0/24 OpenVPN road warriors
192.168.16.0/24 Wireless network with Captive portal enabled

When connected my road warriors clients resolves zentyal.test.com host as ip of eth2 (192.168.16.1) and normaly they cannot access server by name. NSLOOKUP command show result:
zendyal.test.com

When I restart DNS server from dashboard nslookup shows only 192.168.10.1 and everything works fine for about 10 minutes and then the server again registers itself in DNS with address 192.168.16.1 of the eth2 interface. In the DNS administration there is not host with IP address 192.168.16.1 Is there any way to disable eth2 interface to register itself in DNS?

I think this is enough information but I can write some more if needed.

PS When using nslookup queries IP addresses of zentyal.test.com 192.168.16.1 and 192.168.10.1 changes order. After few queries 192.168.16.1 becomes first in order and after few more queries it becomes second in order, seems like strange behavior.

Thank You all in advanced!

vitaebela

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Re: DNS registration of eth2 interface manifest in VPN problem
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2013, 05:04:06 pm »
Oh yes, when eth2 disabled and DNS service restarted everything works fine  ;)

vitaebela

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile