Author Topic: (SOLVED)Having issues with Zarafa - I have a question about including Xtrabackup  (Read 1867 times)

half_life

• Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Subject says it all.  I am having trouble with the Zarafa database corrupting from time to time. It (mysql in general) has been acting flackey since the 2.0-->2.2 upgrade.  Since the only time efficient solution I have found so far is to use the last backup for the VM I am looking into incrementally backing up the database.  Thus enters Xtrabackup into the scenario.  I have no experience with the software and am wondering if anyone else has had any with it. i am keenly interested in people who have incorporated it into their Zentyal server. Or will I be the first  . . .?
« Last Edit: December 03, 2012, 05:10:26 am by half_life »

half_life

• Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Re: Having issues with Zarafa -- I have a question about including Xtrabackup
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2012, 10:29:35 pm »
An Update:
I have added the xtrabackup software to the server and run a few backups as tests.  By default it is aggressive with resources.  It saturates the available disk I/O.  I am tinkering with --throttle settings trying to strike a balance between server availability and backup time.  I am beginning to think about uprooting mysql altogether and replacing with the clustered xtradb solution by the same vendor.  More on this later.

half_life

• Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Re: Having issues with Zarafa -- I have a question about including Xtrabackup
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2012, 05:09:56 am »