Author Topic: 3.0 RC2 installs but will not boot  (Read 2248 times)

ccarpenter

• Zen Monk
    • View Profile
3.0 RC2 installs but will not boot
« on: September 08, 2012, 01:10:50 am »
I just finished building a mini-itx system with these specs:
Jetway JF9A-Q67
Core i3-2120T
Corsair 2x4GB

The installation goes fine with no errors, but when its time to boot it just has a black screen and after a while a menu will come up asking if I want to use kernel 3.2.0-29 or 3.2.0-29 (recovery). Either one I choose doesn't work. Just curious so I downloaded 3.0 RC1 also and it installed ok and it did boot into the os, but after I ran the updates it resulted in the same as RC2. So it would seem that something about 3.2.0-29 is causing me problems. Is there any resources to see if I can check I my hardware is not compatible with 3.2.0-29. Everything ran fin with RC1. It detected all my hardware with no problems. I just dont know why a new kernel would stop working?

P.S. I'm not a linux expert by any means so any ideas or help is greatly appreciated.

J. A. Calvo

• Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
    • http://blogs.zentyal.org/jacalvo
Re: 3.0 RC2 installs but will not boot
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2012, 01:47:56 am »
Have you checked with the MD5 that the ISO is not corrupted? If that's not the case, as you say it has to be related with the new  kernel in 12.04.1, but you're right, that kind of regression seems hard to believe in an LTS distribution. I'm afraid we don't have your same hardware to reproduce it, but it would be interesting to see if any other user with a similar hardware has experienced the same problems...
Zentyal Server Lead Developer

ccarpenter

• Zen Monk
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2012, 03:00:25 am »