Author Topic: Errors during Configuration Backup  (Read 2141 times)

daneck

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Errors during Configuration Backup
« on: January 03, 2009, 03:19:57 am »
New install of Ubuntu 8.10 and ebox.  Since the install I've added 3 drives as RAID5 w/ spare (don't think this has anything to do with the error, but thought I'd mention it).  After setting up file sharing, one group with two users I attempted to do a Configuration Backup and keep getting errors similar to the following:

Some error has happened in eBox:

root command /usr/sbin/slapcat -f /etc/ldap/slapd.conf > /var/lib/ebox/conf//backup.h78qSF/aux/users.bak/ldap.ldif failed. Error output

I've attempted 4 backups and the only thing that changes is the backup.XXXXXXX/ stuff.

I'm new to Linux, Ubuntu and of course eBox, so don't know my way around the system enough to figure this out on my own.  This is currently a 'test' project of mine, so I'm not worried about any loss of data or the need to do a fresh install again.  (Lord knows I've done about 20 installs of server OS and several control panels in the past week already playing around and messing things up) ;D

Any suggestions on how to identify and correct the problem would be greatly appreciated.

I hope everyone has a safe and happy New Year!

daneck

javi

• Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Re: Errors during Configuration Backup
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2009, 07:33:30 pm »
Could you please run the following command and tell us if you get an error.

Code: [Select]
sudo /usr/sbin/slapcat -f /etc/ldap/slapd.conf > /tmp

The way slapd stores its configuration has changed from 8.04 to 8.10,  that could be the reason. I'll try to take a look into it soon.

daneck

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2009, 08:45:57 pm »
Results are:

-bash: /tmp: Is a directory