Author Topic: Zentyal setup  (Read 3826 times)

tbr

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Zentyal setup
« on: November 17, 2011, 09:25:27 pm »
im having lots of issues with Zentyal setup.
first of all....
im a Windows network admin and have been for around 10 years(dont hold that against me) and this is slowly driving me nuts. :'( - trying to work out if its mostly me (probably) or Zentyal.

My aim:
To have all my machines use my Zentyal for DNS, file and print, Mail server - basic SBS.
possibly eventually as a webserver too.
I would prefer to keep DHCP, and Gateway as is.
I have a mixture of Windows 7 home premium, Win7 pro, Ubuntu 10, and Ubuntu 11.10 pcs.

1. i already have a network setup using DHCP from a physical firewall, which is also the gateway. with it configured as my DNS server/pass through everything works. As soon as i try and configure anything to go through Zentyal i lose the ability to resolve names, access the internet etc.

2. as a file server whenever i create a new samba share and grant admin access to my 1 userGroup which has all my users in and their names/passwords are the same as the local names/passwords on the pc's - the share doesnt appear to any windows machine. i have access to the users home folder and the 2 Zentyal folders. - can view all through Ubuntu.

Info:
network 145.145.0.x
Zentyal server 145.145.0.145 - static
gateway/firewall 145.145.0.254 - static

DNS settings on firewall - DHCP config points all DNS to 145.145.0.145
Zentyal DNS -  transparent, using forwarders to opendns servers

any help would be much appreciated, as until i can overcome the DNS issues i dont want to tackle the mail server.....

Tim :D

innocenti_jr

• Zen Monk
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal setup
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2011, 09:11:46 am »
True  ;) 1st setup DNS to work correctly.
You configured it to be transparent, but it should operate as a master for your LAN.
So follow this: