Author Topic: Zentyal Migration Tool for Windows Server available!  (Read 10712 times)

J. A. Calvo

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
  • Karma: +67/-3
    • View Profile
    • http://blogs.zentyal.org/jacalvo
Zentyal Migration Tool for Windows Server available!
« on: October 27, 2011, 04:52:24 pm »
Hi Zentyal users,

We are glad to announce the availability of a new version of our Active Directory synchronization package for Windows (formerly known as Zentyal AD Sync), which has now been renamed to Zentyal Migration Tool. This first version allows to export basic DHCP and DNS settings from Windows servers to Zentyal, making the migration process from existing Windows server environments significantly easier.

Naturally, the tool also comes with a new zentyal-migration-tool package to import these settings on Zentyal side. In addition to this new configuration export feature, the AD synchronization includes some fixes and improvements on both sides. Finally, we have also written some documentation and included helper tools in the new Zentyal package on migrating from Microsoft Exchange to Zarafa.

You can find all the information and installation instructions for this new tool at:

http://www.zentyal.org/migration-tool

As usual, please let us know if you come up with any issues or have any suggestions for improvements. Our aim is to progressively improve this tool, allowing to extract more data to make the replacement of Windows servers with Zentyal as easy as possible.
Zentyal Server Lead Developer

c4rdinal

  • Zen Samurai
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal Migration Tool for Windows Server available!
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2011, 09:46:12 am »
Is this the same as the Migration tool for Zentyal 2.0 to 2.2?

Thanks

stanley

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal Migration Tool for Windows Server available!
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2011, 12:07:07 pm »
anyone having troubles adding new users to the SBS domain (running SBS2k3) or changing user passwords? Here's the same problem: http://forum.zentyal.org/index.php/topic,8571.msg35560.html#msg35560