Author Topic: ebox dns configuration  (Read 5997 times)

brianincontrol

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
ebox dns configuration
« on: November 28, 2008, 05:34:19 pm »
Hi all,

I am fairly new to ebox and have some questions. I feel the documentation lacks a little bit and i don't understand how to configure or check the dns server. I want to use it for resolving ip's on my local network only. I really need some help getting started. any info would be greatly appreciated.

-Brian

javi

• Zen Hero
    • View Profile
Re: ebox dns configuration
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2008, 05:43:09 pm »
First of all, you have to enable the module in module status -> Domain Name server.  If you want  to resolve local machines you will have to create a domain in DNS -> Domains and create host names with its IP.

brianincontrol

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2008, 06:13:27 pm »
ok, thanks for the reply.

I did enable it and added a domain and host. but it doesn't seem to work. I tried directing it back to the apachie web server with the web page that says is works and have been unable to get that to come up.

also I am new to this type of server and this is probable a dumb question but when I installed ubuntu and ebox it asked me for infomation ie... domain name etc. however when i set up the mail sever I had to create a virtual doamin for that. whats the difference?
why not automatically use the one i set up in the first place? why did i have to create a new virtual domain for the mail server.

sixstone

• Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
    • Sixstone's blog
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2008, 09:31:29 am »
I did enable it and added a domain and host. but it doesn't seem to work. I tried directing it back to the apache web server with the web page that says is works and have been unable to get that to come up.