Author Topic: DNS/FQDN/Mail Server Setup/Help  (Read 4457 times)

calciumkid

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
DNS/FQDN/Mail Server Setup/Help
« on: July 28, 2011, 02:56:57 pm »
Hi All,

I've been using zentyal for several months now, and for quite a long time I've been having a problem with my config. I have had a mail server set up, running with the virtual domain set to my (registered) domain (isabarwon.com).

I have been able to send and receive emails on it, via the zentyal webmail without issue. However, when setting up my PC to connect via Outlook, or my Mac with Mail, when putting in the IP of my server it gave me an SMTP 504 Helo command error, stating it needed an FQDN.

Today, I clean installed my server to the 2.2rc1. Upon attempting to set everything up again, I still encounter this error. I have also discovered another thing, which was also apparent in my old config. I cannot ping the hostname of my Zentyal box (whether I ping "zentyal" or "zentyal.isabarwon.com" it still says host unknown).

My config is as follows-
modem (192.168.0.1) --> zentyal wan port (192.168.0.3)
                              --> zentyal lan port one (10.0.1.1, DHCP range) --> multiple pcs via switch
                              --> zentyal lan two (10.0.2.1, DHCP range) --> one PC

zentyal hostname: zentyal (i have also tried it with "zentyal.isabarwon.com")
registered domain name: isabarwon.com (registered with domain registrar, the name servers are set to the domain registrars name servers, which forward the domain to my WAN ip)

Could someone explain to me how to get the rest of this up and working? I have added a domain to the zentyal DNS server "isabarwon.com" for use as the DHCP search domain on my IP ranges on the lan ports, this hasn't been able to allow me to ping my zentyal box.