Author Topic: Remote Desktop For Zentyal !  (Read 14803 times)

Srijit B

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Remote Desktop For Zentyal !
« on: April 18, 2011, 08:07:35 am »
I have setup zentyal as gatey and file server.... I can access the Web Interface of Xentyal Easily from any PC's in my nework ! But I wan't to have a system in which i want to make a remote desktop access to the GUI of the OS (Ubuntu Server) in which Zentyal is installed (like we do in Windows using VNC and team viewer)......

How can I do this?

josejad

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop For Zentyal !
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2011, 10:59:59 am »

Srijit B

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop For Zentyal !
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2011, 11:05:13 am »
But how to install it?? Please provide me a step by step instruction. I am new to linux !

josejad

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop For Zentyal !
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2011, 11:14:43 am »
If you read the link, you will see it's a step by step procedure.
I'm quite newbe too  :-\

Srijit B

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop For Zentyal !
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2011, 11:17:19 am »
Will this allow me to access the my Ubuntu Server Desktop GUI from Windows?

Srijit B

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop For Zentyal !
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2011, 11:19:54 am »
I got a useful link :

http://lifehacker.com/#!317125/set-up-vnc-on-ubuntu-in-four-steps

VNC working for the time i open the last(step 4) in console. I can't add that. How to do it?

half_life

  • Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Karma: +58/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop For Zentyal !
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2011, 01:41:56 pm »
I second the motion for X2Go.  Yes you can use Windows to access the desktop.  Very handy!

Marcus

  • Forum Moderator
  • Zen Samurai
  • *****
  • Posts: 395
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
    • Professional IT Service
Re: Remote Desktop For Zentyal !
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2011, 07:06:01 pm »
Hello,

I'm using X11 forwarding capabilities in order to work on the server (if I ever need to be "local").

It is quite simple to do...

From an Ubuntu desktop:
Replace
<admin> with your username
<your Zentyal IP> with your server IP or domain name

Code: [Select]
ssh -X -C <admin>@<your zentyal IP>
* The -X is the X11 Forwarding and the -C is for compression *

After that you only have to fire up Firefox or any other software and done - your now working "local" without even getting close to your server!

Hope it will help...

Best,

Marcus

Loco

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop For Zentyal !
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2011, 12:30:42 pm »
Am I misunderstanding this?

srijit92, you don't want to use TeamViewer?