Author Topic: Suggestions On An eBox/Ubuntu Network Setup For a Non-Profit  (Read 3278 times)

GeorgeAppiah

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Suggestions On An eBox/Ubuntu Network Setup For a Non-Profit
« on: September 01, 2008, 11:58:01 am »
Hello eBox Community Members,

I'm helping to setup a network for a local human-rights non-profit, and I'd appreciate your thoughts on our choices and also any help to setup the network. There are presently 25 users on the network, but this is expected to reach 40 by end of the year. All users have Laptops running Windows XP. [Just for your information, my background is in RF Planning & Optimization (cellular network stuff), so I'm not really into server stuff.]

Server Software
===============
The organization cannot afford a full-time sys admin, so I'm going to give one of their staff some basic training, and I'll be providing "guided troubleshooting" to them over the telephone / by email. So we're thinking of using Ubuntu Desktop (instead of the bundled Ubuntu Server) for their server, and then install eBox on top of the Ubuntu Desktop as a PDC / centralized login server. Any thoughts on this choice?

Local Email / Webmail
==============
The organization is currently using Google Apps for email, and Outlook is configured for all users. They also use Google's Webmail interface when they're out of the office, as most Internet cafes here do not allow users to connect their own computers.

But they would like to be able to exchange mails at the office, even when their Internet service is down. So we need some soft of relay on the local server to make this happen. Is this feature built into the new eBox 0.12? If not, any thoughts on what tool to use and how to go about is? Also, is there possibility of implementing an SSO (single sign on for Google Apps / eBox)... without buying Google Apps Pro?

Remote Access
==========