Author Topic: Enable addl. HD in Zentyal? [SOLVED]  (Read 2932 times)

EricLorenz

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Enable addl. HD in Zentyal? [SOLVED]
« on: December 29, 2010, 08:38:57 am »
Hi all:

I apologize if this appears to some as a noob question....I am still fairly new with Linux, and this (and one at our (small) church where I am IT Dir.)are the first 2 Zentyal installs I've done.

The machine in question is our small home server. 2 drives- a 10Gb where the system is installed, and an addl. 80Gb. This was originally an Ubuntu Server 10.04 that I did a 'package upgrade' on to install Zentyal.

I guess I was not paying too colse attention during the original Ubuntu install- I *thought* that both HD's got partitioned and formatted, but now after the Zentyla install it appears not. So my question is...is this something I can take care of in Zentyal (getting the addl. 80Gb online), or do I still have to do that in the underlying Ubuntu system? And how? Thanks for the help.

Eric Lorenz

UPDATE...I had put this away for awhile...but finally decided to probe a little further. I ran the configuration report, and lo and behold found out what happened. Here is what it showed-

Disk /dev/sda: 10.0 GB, 10005037056 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1216 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000a69f3

Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1          32      248832   83  Linux
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2              32        1217     9519105    5  Extended
/dev/sda5              32        1217     9519104   8e  Linux LVM

Disk /dev/sdb: 82.0 GB, 81964302336 bytes
188 heads, 59 sectors/track, 14432 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 11092 * 512 = 5679104 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes