Author Topic: Network Interfaces Order  (Read 2312 times)

jcsanchez

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Network Interfaces Order
« on: December 07, 2010, 07:02:39 pm »
I am new at Zentyal and I think is a powerfull networking resource, not to be mentioned as "small business UTM Gateway", I think it is more powerfull than that.

I've been trying it for the last couple of weeks, and I have found it very interesting, but I have a question regarding the network interfaces order.

The Zentyal OS, recognized all of the 10 ETH network cards that I have on my box, the thing is that our faceplate for the box (the boxes are rack mountable) comes with the names of the interface on top of the phisical interface (from left to righ, as ET0, ETH1, ETH2, ETC), but the OS recognized the interfaces on disorder from left to right. What we need is to reorder the interfaces as we need, so it can be phisically on order (as the box comes) and logically in order.

Josep

• Zen Samurai
    • View Profile
Re: Network Interfaces Order
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2010, 06:10:07 pm »
I don't recall seeing any option in Zentyal to do this.
I believe that the name assignation is done at a lower level by "udev", the Linux Device Manager.
Look in your "/etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules" file.

Mine contains:
Code: [Select]
# This file was automatically generated by the /lib/udev/write_net_rules
# program, run by the persistent-net-generator.rules rules file.
#
# You can modify it, as long as you keep each rule on a single
# line, and change only the value of the NAME= key.

# PCI device 0x10ec:0x8168 (r8169)
SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="48:5b:39:a8:40:3a", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="eth*", NAME="eth0"

# USB device 0x14b2:0x3c06 (usb)
SUBSYSTEM=="net", ACTION=="add", DRIVERS=="?*", ATTR{address}=="00:80:5a:51:d7:77", ATTR{dev_id}=="0x0", ATTR{type}=="1", KERNEL=="wlan*", NAME="wlan0"