Author Topic: [SOLVED] Zentyal as PDC, Cannot get any clients to join domain.  (Read 17225 times)

inistec

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] Zentyal as PDC, Cannot get any clients to join domain.
« on: January 10, 2011, 05:18:17 pm »
This is my first attempt at setting up Zentyal as a PDC.

The problem is that Windows XP service pack 3 fails to join the domain.

I have followed the instructions on Howtoforge to a tee.  I have also formatted/reinstalled Zentyal server several times attempting to use various small changes to domain name, host name etc.  I have even attempted using the names suggested in the how-to.

The first error that I received is.
Code: [Select]
Note: This information is intended for a network administrator.  If you are not your network's administrator, notify the administrator that you received this information, which has been recorded in the file C:\WINDOWS\debug\dcdiag.txt.

The following error occurred when DNS was queried for the service location (SRV) resource record used to locate a domain controller for domain raineyelectronics.local:

The error was: "DNS name does not exist."
(error code 0x0000232B RCODE_NAME_ERROR)

The query was for the SRV record for _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.raineyelectronics.local

Common causes of this error include the following:

- The DNS SRV record is not registered in DNS.

- One or more of the following zones do not include delegation to its child zone:

raineyelectronics.local
local

I have also tried using the NetBios name of the Zentyal PDC, and received the following error message.
Code: [Select]
Note: This information is intended for a network administrator.  If you are not your network's administrator, notify the administrator that you received this information, which has been recorded in the file C:\WINDOWS\debug\dcdiag.txt.

The domain name rs1 might be a NetBIOS domain name.  If this is the case, verify that the domain name is properly registered with WINS.

If you are certain that the name is not a NetBIOS domain name, then the following information can help you troubleshoot your DNS configuration.

The following error occurred when DNS was queried for the service location (SRV) resource record used to locate a domain controller for domain rs1:

The error was: "DNS server failure."
(error code 0x0000232A RCODE_SERVER_FAILURE)

I have also tried the Windows 7 registry fix because I believed the issue to be DNS related.

All has been to no avail.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.  I have been working on this for two days, and still at a total loss as to what I am doing wrong.



« Last Edit: January 11, 2011, 02:48:49 pm by inistec »

Trym

  • Zen Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal as PDC, Cannot get any clients to join domain.
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2011, 10:28:45 pm »
When, as you say, even Windows XP SP3 won't connect to the domain, there's something fundamentally wrong with your network-setup.

I cannot pinpoint exactly what from the given error messages, so you simply have to follow normal debugging procedures, and test one component at a time.

First check DHCP. Does an ordinary network connected computer get it's proper address, dns and gateway-settings from the dhcp-server?

ipconfig /all should tell you if it does.

Second, test DNS-resolution using any number of DNS-tools, starting with nslookup of course.

I'd be very surprised if both of the above are working as they should.

::Trym


inistec

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal as PDC, Cannot get any clients to join domain.
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2011, 10:38:30 pm »
When, as you say, even Windows XP SP3 won't connect to the domain, there's something fundamentally wrong with your network-setup.

I cannot pinpoint exactly what from the given error messages, so you simply have to follow normal debugging procedures, and test one component at a time.

First check DHCP. Does an ordinary network connected computer get it's proper address, dns and gateway-settings from the dhcp-server?

ipconfig /all should tell you if it does.

Second, test DNS-resolution using any number of DNS-tools, starting with nslookup of course.

I'd be very surprised if both of the above are working as they should.

::Trym




    I am not using DHCP on the client machines.  However I do have the IP address of the Zentyal Server set as both the primary DNS and WINS servers on the client machines.

     Using nslookup, I am able to resolve the DNS hostname for the Zentyal server, as well as the Domain name that I have set.  I can also ping the Zentyal server using only the NetBios Name. 

I have even gone as far as adding the SRV records manually to the Zentyal Server eg.  ( _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.raineyelectronics.local)  Once I did that it was able to resolve the records that it was looking for, but was still unable to find the domain controller.

I have also tried with the Zentyal firewall option disabled.

Since I have been a linux admin primarily, I am not familiar with the tools used for dignostic of the Samba Domain controller functions.


Trym

  • Zen Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal as PDC, Cannot get any clients to join domain.
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2011, 10:50:56 pm »
I'm sorry I won't able to help you with your particular setup, but what I can tell you is that I've setup a dozen Zentyals as PDC's, and never had any problems with that aspect of it.

I'm presuming you have a very good reason for not using DHCP, but you should at least test if it works using it.

Configure the DHCP-service in zentyal, add a dhcp-pool, choose zentyal as the standard gateway, primary dns-server and wins-server.

Configure the client to use DHCP, check with ipconfig /all that it in fact gets all the correct ip's, then again try to join the domain.

If it works (it should), you will at least be a little closer to figuring out what is wrong with the static setup.

::Trym

inistec

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] Zentyal as PDC, Cannot get any clients to join domain.
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2011, 02:50:09 pm »
Problem was the fact that I set my domain name as "companyname".local

I renamed the domain to simply "companyname" and the PDC now works properly.

:)