Author Topic: Zentyal Desktop Link to Shares  (Read 3668 times)

SamK

• Zen Samurai
    • View Profile
Zentyal Desktop Link to Shares
« on: October 27, 2010, 02:48:12 pm »
Topic arose from reply #2, #3, #4 in this post: http://forum.zentyal.org/index.php?PHPSESSID=feedd9ece31aa1c0b8cc5d587bb7a3b2&topic=5346.msg21863

It seems there is an opportunity here to provide flexibility and choice in the way Zentyal Desktop handles Samba shares (and do it quite simply).  As a non coder I am unable to provide a coded contribution but offer the findings of my tests which are repeatable and clearly demonstrate a workable proof of concept.  They can be recreated by anyone who wishes to do so.

After making the above post I created a test setup.  Unrestricted Samba shares were published to the LAN and a test-rig-PC created based on Lubuntu 10.10.  PAM was not used in order to avoid uneccessary complication at this time as it will be unchanged by either of the following choices.

Connection to the remote shares from the test-rig-PC appears to rely on a local installation of gvfs and gvfs-backends (Ubuntu repositories).  These are required packages common to both the Nautilus and PCmanFM ways of graphically browsing the shares.  GVFS creates local mounts to the remote shares in ~/.gvfs; this can be accessed from the command line, Nautilus, and PCmanFM which suggests that the use of Nautilus within Zentyal Desktop is optional rather than required.  In essence, discovering, mounting, and presenting the shares uses exactly the same packages and mechanisms for either Nautilus or PCmanFM. In this respect, removing Nautilus and substituting PCmanFM requires no other changes, they are entirely interchangable without modification.