Author Topic: Network setup  (Read 2846 times)

Jared

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Network setup
« on: April 07, 2011, 04:24:56 am »
I am new to Zentyal and need some help. My Question is i have a dsl modem which is always
on no login which the server finds on eth0 and stats the link is up and i have confirmed this as
i can get to the web. Now eth1 stats that it is up but with no luck i cannot connect with any
computer on my network which are 6 total (4) hard line and (2) wireless + a Linksys router.
I have tried bridged,and static so if i could get some help i would greatly appreciate it as i know
i am missing something.  
« Last Edit: April 08, 2011, 07:21:51 am by Jared »

Jared

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Network setup
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2011, 07:18:32 am »
The issue i am having is the dsl mode is connected but i can not get the connections from the
red line to the green. On the green line i have tried static, DHCP, Bridged and have had no luck.
Please if someone could help as this is new to me as if have never setup a firewall or server
alone in linux. I would greatly appreciate any and all help as i have 3 children and
would like to filter what can be accessed on the internet.  
« Last Edit: April 08, 2011, 07:21:31 am by Jared »

Sam Graf

Re: Network setup
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2011, 02:30:27 pm »
I would like to know a little more about how you're using eth1. You're trying to use that as the internal interface to which everything else on your network connects, correct? Have you configured Zentyal's DHCP module for eth1?

On the WAN side and eth0, does your ISP supply you with static public addresses? If not, you'll need to configure things so that eth0 gets gets an IP address from the modem. I don't think it makes any difference if that is a public or private address. And in this scenario, eth0 will be configured as an external interface and to get it's address by DHCP, from the modem.

Jared

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile