Author Topic: [SOLVED] - can't create /var/run/dhcpd.pid .... in syslog  (Read 5721 times)

effgee

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] - can't create /var/run/dhcpd.pid .... in syslog
« on: September 24, 2010, 01:20:52 pm »
Anyone else getting this error?
can't create /var/run/dhcpd.pid
in /var/log/syslog?

I solved it by following post #6 in this thread..
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1092664

I dunno if its a ebox or ubuntu problem writing the pid to /var/run/dhcpd.pid instead of /var/run/dhcp3-server/dhcpd.pid

Just a heads up.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2010, 11:34:18 am by effgee »

sixstone

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1417
  • Karma: +26/-0
    • View Profile
    • Sixstone's blog
Re: can't create /var/run/dhcpd.pid .... in syslog
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 04:41:46 pm »
Hi effgee,

The default PID file for dhcpd3 is /var/run/dhcpd.pid but the apparmor profile for usr.sbin.dhcpd3 is /var/run/dhcp3-server/dhcpd.pid, so the problem comes from there.

This is already fixed and it will be released soon.

Thanks for reporting it ;).

Best regards,
My secret is my silence...

effgee

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] - can't create /var/run/dhcpd.pid .... in syslog
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2010, 09:25:23 pm »
I've actually uninstalled  apparmor due to issues such as that.
It has nothing to do with apparmor, but actually the scripts that zentyal is using to start services.

I know, I know, its fixed already. Just clarifying.

Also, please check:

http://forum.zentyal.org/index.php?topic=5065.0

For information on fixing issues with PPTPD connectivity.

Also, is this the desired firewall implementation?

http://forum.zentyal.org/index.php?topic=5038.0