Poll

Does load balancer really work?

Yes
4 (44.4%)
No
3 (33.3%)
Sometimes
2 (22.2%)

Total Members Voted: 9

Author Topic: Load Balancer Successful rate? [SOLVED]  (Read 2502 times)

mektekjidi

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Load Balancer Successful rate? [SOLVED]
« on: June 13, 2010, 07:28:36 pm »
Hi,

I have spent few days configuring the load balancer function & doing numerous ebox installation.

At first seems like its working but few test later, its like not working at all. I have intermediate knowledge in debian, ubuntu & done few load balancer setup in pfsense successfully.

Honestly i really like ebox gui because its more straight forward & hassle free to setup/config than pfsense. I got no issue with fail over function though.

I have read most of load balancer related thread but most of them were left unanswered. So if anyone really got the load balancer function working, hopefully they can share the config setting.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 03:07:03 pm by mektekjidi »

javi

  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1042
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2010, 07:59:53 pm »
It would help if you told us how you test it and in which way it stops working.

mektekjidi

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2010, 04:28:15 am »
Hi,

Sorry for not giving details on my ebox setup before. Heres mine,

ebox1.4 - iso installation (updated by running ebox-software in console)

#interfaces
eth0 = 192.168.0.9 to LAN
eth1 = 192.168.1.9 to router1 (WAN checked)
eth2 = 192.168.2.9 to router2 (WAN checked)
eth3 = 192.168.3.9 to router3 (WAN checked)

#gateway (all enabled)
router1 = 192.168.1.1 (set as default)
router2 = 192.168.2.1
router3 = 192.168.3.1

#balance traffic (all enabled)
interface,source,destination,service = any & gateway=router1
interface,source,destination,service = any & gateway=router2
interface,source,destination,service = any & gateway=router3

testing method = utorrent download/upload, im confident it dint balance because only eth0 & eth1 led blinking while eth2 & eth3 led were static.

*i think the only time load balancer working were on my 1st few install. However im not 100% sure since im more focus on fail over function at that time. Now i have fresh install the ebox but i cant figure out why wont the load balancer working no matter what i try.

*now i got new issue, sometimes after reboot the ebox, i cant ping nor access the ebox via firefox from winxp machine. suprisingly i can ping & access with no problem on my debianbox. Then like 5 minutes later, i got no problem accessing ebox from winxp machine. Few test later shows that some other xp machine (& my debianbox) can ping to ebox while my xp machine cant.

Thanks for your attention.

mayoryusa

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2010, 09:56:53 am »
every time i tried it...and double check it and follow the instruction through as your documented pdf and others guide ..it seem failed....never work

wan 1 never balance with wan 2 ..... and have tried failover also doesn't work well.. even it detected the 1st wan is down and use the 2nd wan but...the no internet through that

when my pc booting ..they seem have error with my realtek 8139c...is your ubuntu version doesn't  support that realtek device. even though ive using ubuntu since 6.06 until 10.04 they have no dificulty using this ethernet device...

is my realtek  are the main problem ?

mektekjidi

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2010, 03:44:05 pm »
It would help if you told us how you test it and in which way it stops working.

so does my setup correct?  ???

mektekjidi

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2010, 05:37:00 pm »
does no one in this forum actually test this load balancer feature?   :-\

J. A. Calvo

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
  • Karma: +67/-3
    • View Profile
    • http://blogs.zentyal.org/jacalvo
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2010, 06:32:10 pm »
I've seen lots of scenarios with load balancing working flawlessly.

Anyway, in ebox-network 1.5 (also backported as 1.4.7 in the 1.4-proposed repository) there is a new implementation of the load balancer. It would be great if some of you could test it and give us some feedback.
Zentyal Server Lead Developer

mektekjidi

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2010, 08:28:20 am »
I've seen lots of scenarios with load balancing working flawlessly.

Anyway, in ebox-network 1.5 (also backported as 1.4.7 in the 1.4-proposed repository) there is a new implementation of the load balancer. It would be great if some of you could test it and give us some feedback.

thanks for ur reply.. i'll give it a try...  :)

mektekjidi

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2010, 04:07:19 pm »
I've seen lots of scenarios with load balancing working flawlessly.

Anyway, in ebox-network 1.5 (also backported as 1.4.7 in the 1.4-proposed repository) there is a new implementation of the load balancer. It would be great if some of you could test it and give us some feedback.

well... fresh install of ubuntu lucid server + ebox 1.5 still i face the same situation...  :-\

i think the load balancer / traffic balancer setup guide seem straightforward.. i cant figure out what i did wrong...   ???

jsalamero

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1419
  • Karma: +45/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2010, 08:43:04 pm »
mektekjidi, can you post output of your ip route ls ; ip route ls table ; ip route ls table default ; ip rule ls ; iptables -t mangle -L -n -v ?

thanks!

mektekjidi

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2010, 08:32:32 am »
mektekjidi, can you post output of your ip route ls ; ip route ls table ; ip route ls table default ; ip rule ls ; iptables -t mangle -L -n -v ?

thanks!

thanks for ur attention.  :)
http://pastebin.com/MbJ56JHY

mektekjidi

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2010, 08:10:45 am »
mektekjidi, can you post output of your ip route ls ; ip route ls table ; ip route ls table default ; ip rule ls ; iptables -t mangle -L -n -v ?

thanks!

thanks for ur attention.  :)
http://pastebin.com/MbJ56JHY

do u know whats wrong with it?

jsalamero

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1419
  • Karma: +45/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #12 on: June 27, 2010, 01:22:55 pm »
The rules seems to be ok, can you install something to view traffic on real time, for example tcptrack ? And then view connection on the LAN and how they go thru the 3 internet outputs ? Does connections go out using the 3 of them ?

$ sudo apt-get install tcptrack
$ sudo tcptrack -p -i ethX

exekias

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Big Bug Theory
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #13 on: June 27, 2010, 04:00:03 pm »
Hi mektekjidi.

I've seen something wrong in your configuration:

#balance traffic (all enabled)
interface,source,destination,service = any & gateway=router1
interface,source,destination,service = any & gateway=router2
interface,source,destination,service = any & gateway=router3

You don't need to add that rules in traffic balancing, this rules are intended to set an unique gateway for a specific service. If you add this rules all the traffic will go through router1 (because all traffic gets into first rule)

Try to delete this 3 rules and test again. And please, tell us if it works again ;)

mektekjidi

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Load Balancer Successful rate?
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2010, 03:02:13 pm »
Hi mektekjidi.

I've seen something wrong in your configuration:

#balance traffic (all enabled)
interface,source,destination,service = any & gateway=router1
interface,source,destination,service = any & gateway=router2
interface,source,destination,service = any & gateway=router3

You don't need to add that rules in traffic balancing, this rules are intended to set an unique gateway for a specific service. If you add this rules all the traffic will go through router1 (because all traffic gets into first rule)

Try to delete this 3 rules and test again. And please, tell us if it works again ;)

u da man...   :-* :-* :-*

traffic balance running flawlessly now. i would like to say thanks to all ebox staffs especially cperez.  ;D

jsalamero,
thanks for ur suggestion.