Author Topic: Zentyal 8 missing Virtual Interfaces after upgrade from 7.0  (Read 661 times)

jrtaylor

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Zentyal 8 missing Virtual Interfaces after upgrade from 7.0
« on: April 29, 2024, 10:11:29 pm »
I upgraded a server from 7.0 to 8.0 that was using Virtual Interfaces. After upgrade the Virtual Interfaces that were set are gone but the web ui still thinks the IP's are assigned. Is 8 supposed to have the Virtual Interface option?

jrtaylor

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 8 missing Virtual Interfaces after upgrade from 7.0
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2024, 05:20:33 am »
From the change log.

Remove vifaces form and mark the feature as deprecated

Problem is the interfaces are not deleted and are left broken! Make sure to delete them before upgrading.

Daniel Joven

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Monk
  • *****
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 8 missing Virtual Interfaces after upgrade from 7.0
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2024, 04:12:53 pm »
Hi,

Thank you for reporting this behavior. Could you please tell us where the configuration remained after the upgrade? We have identified that certain configuration remains in the configuration file /etc/netplan/netplan.yaml

Best regards, Daniel Joven.

Daniel Joven

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Monk
  • *****
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 8 missing Virtual Interfaces after upgrade from 7.0
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2024, 12:24:44 pm »
Hi,

We have added the following section in the upgrade documentation regarding this deprecated feature in Zentyal 8.0.

* https://doc.zentyal.org/en/upgrade.html#virtual-interfaces
* https://doc.zentyal.org/es/upgrade.html#intefaces-virtuales

Thank you again for reporting this behavior.

jrtaylor

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 8 missing Virtual Interfaces after upgrade from 7.0
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2024, 05:48:15 pm »
Yes it is in /etc/netplan/netplan.yaml but I think it is also in the mysql db as I tried to add another interface and assign one of the old virt interfaces to it and it says it was a duplicate. Resaving the interfaces does not help either. If you added a gateway manually it also gets stuck.

Code: [Select]
cat /etc/netplan/netplan.yaml
network:
  version: 2
  renderer: NetworkManager
  ethernets:
    eth0:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      addresses:
        - x.x.x.x/29
      nameservers:
        search:
            - "xxxxxxxx.com"
        addresses: [ 1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1 ]
      routes:
        - to: 'default'
          via: x.x.x.x
          metric: 1
          on-link: true
        - to: 10.254.254.0/24
          via: 192.168.183.243
    eth1:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      addresses:
        - 192.168.183.254/24
      nameservers:
        search:
            - "xxxxxxxx.com"
        addresses: [ 1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1 ]
    eth2:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      addresses:
        - 192.168.42.254/24
      nameservers:
        search:
            - "xxxxxxxx.com"
        addresses: [ 1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1 ]
    eth3:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      addresses:
        - 192.168.153.254/24
      nameservers:
        search:
            - "xxxxxxxxx.com"
        addresses: [ 1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1 ]
    eth4:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      addresses:
        - 192.168.155.254/24
      nameservers:
        search:
            - "xxxxxxxxxx.com"
        addresses: [ 1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1 ]
    eth5:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      addresses:
        - 192.168.55.254/24
      nameservers:
        search:
            - "xxxxxxxxxxx.com"
        addresses: [ 1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1 ]
    eth6:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      addresses:
        - 192.168.156.254/24
      nameservers:
        search:
            - "xxxxxxxxxxx.com"
        addresses: [ 1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1 ]
    eth0.eth01:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      match:
        name: eth0.eth01
      set-name: eth0.eth01
      addresses:
        - 10.1.10.254/24
#            label: "eth0:eth01"
    eth0.eth02:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      match:
        name: eth0.eth02
      set-name: eth0.eth02
      addresses:
        - 10.1.10.1/24
#            label: "eth0:eth02"
    eth1.eth11:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      match:
        name: eth1.eth11
      set-name: eth1.eth11
      addresses:
        - 192.168.183.1/24
#            label: "eth1:eth11"

ls -al /etc/netplan/netplan.yaml
-rw-r----- 1 root root 2244 May 16 10:42 /etc/netplan/netplan.yaml


jrtaylor

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 8 missing Virtual Interfaces after upgrade from 7.0
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2024, 10:51:34 pm »
Where is this info stored so that I can remove the virtual interfaces???

Daniel Joven

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Monk
  • *****
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 8 missing Virtual Interfaces after upgrade from 7.0
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2024, 08:56:53 am »
Where is this info stored so that I can remove the virtual interfaces???

The network configuration is in /etc/netplan/netplan.yaml. The virtual interfaces entries are like this:

Code: [Select]
eth0.eth02:
      dhcp4: false
      dhcp6: false
      match:
        name: eth0.eth02
      set-name: eth0.eth02
      addresses:
        - 10.1.10.1/24
#            label: "eth0:eth02"

Those kinds of entries must be removed manually. After that, you must restart the network module:

Code: [Select]
sudo zs network restart

jrtaylor

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 8 missing Virtual Interfaces after upgrade from 7.0
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2024, 12:10:35 am »
Manually deleting entries does not solve the problem. File /etc/netplan/netplan.yaml is created from information stored somewhere else and that is where it needs to be removed.