Author Topic: Secondary Domain to Primary Domain Zentyal V5 to V7  (Read 160 times)

rjtowels

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Secondary Domain to Primary Domain Zentyal V5 to V7
« on: October 30, 2022, 09:22:05 pm »
Hi All,
In order to upgrade my Zentyal V5.0, I have added a *temporary* ADC, and copied all shares to the ADC from the PDC.
Now I have shutdown the PDC - and users are able to login to the ADC, and drive maps are working.
1. Once I am done installing a fresh Zentyal PDC V7.0 - Do I then add it as a an ADC again to the current domain or do I add it as a PDC?
2. Since I have shutdown the PDC, can I now make the ADC into the PDC?
3. Then I can add the new Zentyal as a ADC, then shutdown the previous PDC and make it into PDC?

Hope you get me! Please help!
Thank you!

turalyon

  • Zen Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Secondary Domain to Primary Domain Zentyal V5 to V7
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2022, 12:03:13 pm »
Hi,

1. Configure always the new servers as an Additional Domain Controller, otherwise, the service will be configured from scratch. And do not change the Domain mode in Zentyal or you will lose everything (it removes everything and configured from scratch).
2. You have to migrate the FSMO roles, below you have the link that explains it.
 * https://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Transferring_and_Seizing_FSMO_Roles
3. Once you confirmed that the join was successful and the replication between both servers works as expected, you can remove the 'old' Zentyal and if you wish, migrate the FSMO roles to the new Zentyal 7.0 server.
 * https://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Verifying_the_Directory_Replication_Statuses
 * https://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Verifying_and_Creating_a_DC_DNS_Record
 * https://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Demoting_a_Samba_AD_DC
 
--

“This world is ours, and by the Holy Light we will keep it safe, now and forever".

rjtowels

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Secondary Domain to Primary Domain Zentyal V5 to V7
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2022, 12:53:18 pm »
Thank you so much! That is awesome will do that this week and let you know!

On a side note, I unfortunatly have 2 WinXP machines - they logged on fine in Zentyal 5.0, but cannot for the life of me get them even to see the Zen7.0 server - keeps saying too many connections.
Checked the time sync - all okay.
Any recommendations

rjtowels

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Secondary Domain to Primary Domain Zentyal V5 to V7
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2022, 05:14:59 pm »
Hi Got the issue about why WINXP wasnt able to login - the NT1 protocol needed to be added as MIN PROTOCOL = NT1

https://forum.zentyal.org/index.php?topic=35062.0

Thanks