Author Topic: Simple network - domain not found  (Read 232 times)

GLM

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Simple network - domain not found
« on: October 10, 2022, 10:29:55 pm »
Hi to everyone,
first time I try to configure Zentyal so be nice  ;D
The configuration of the local network is really simple, basic!
1 router, server with proxmox as a VE, VM with zentyal.
Zentyal take the ip address in dhcp mode or static mode without problems, if I try to ping the ip of Zentyal the name is resolved, but if I try to add a w10 to the domain the response is always:
  • impossibile to contact a domain controller active directory for the domain
  • Domain not found
It seem impossibile to configure a basic network, or i make something wrong!
If someone can link me a guide or give some instruction it will be very appreciated

Thanks in advance!


dzidek23

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Simple network - domain not found
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2022, 04:11:47 pm »
Hi,

to me it looks like you don't have DNS configured in your DHCP (for your clients). There are few things you can do:
1. make sure your DHCP advertisment includes and points at the right server (your Zentyal instance)
2. manually add DNS address to the network configuration of your Windows client
3. add your server IP and the domain name to c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts (on your client machine)

either of the above should resolve your issue.

GLM

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Simple network - domain not found
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2022, 02:50:26 pm »
Hello,
thank you for your time.
I have already done these tests and they had not brought any results, but after doing other tests I was able to identify the problem in the router (tplink TL-MR6500v), for some reason it overwrites the dns settings.
It made me crazy