Author Topic: Changing .local to .com Domain  (Read 485 times)

fmoreira86

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Changing .local to .com Domain
« on: December 27, 2021, 01:23:41 pm »
Hello,

Is it possible to change the AD domain from .local to .com (this is purely Zentyal infrastructure)?

Thanks!

turalyon

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Changing .local to .com Domain
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2021, 03:16:01 pm »
Hi,

If you are using your domain '.local' with the Domain Controller module enabled, no, as soon as you make that change, you will lose all the information (it removes everything and does the provision Domain Controller again).

Also, when you rename the domain name of a Zentyal that is provisioned (using the Domain Controller module), there are issues that ends with a rollback or a fresh installation.

So, if you need to change the domain name, you need to do a fresh installation of Zentyal, and then, import all the users and groups through the feature 'Import/Export'.

* https://doc.zentyal.org/en/directory.html#importing-and-exporting-users-and-groups

Hope it helps.

--
“This world is ours, and by the Holy Light we will keep it safe, now and forever".

fmoreira86

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Changing .local to .com Domain
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2021, 06:42:38 pm »
Thanks!

What about GPOs?

Also, would it be possible to keep the same account settings at workstations after joining the "new" domain?

Thanks

turalyon

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Changing .local to .com Domain
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2022, 11:17:08 am »
Hi,

The GPOs will be removed as well. So, you will need to make a backup of those GPO.

--
“This world is ours, and by the Holy Light we will keep it safe, now and forever".