Author Topic: Zentyal 6.1 DNS module issue - manual adding DNS record doesn't work  (Read 579 times)

B8emg

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Freshly installed Zentyal 6.1 - manually added DNS records are not applied to zone config, it seems that nsupdate is not executed. Not sure how it's possible, but I see different content of DNS.pm on disk(and in zentyal-dns package) to what exists on github.

root@ad01:~# diff -u DNS.pm /usr/share/perl5/EBox/DNS.pm
--- DNS.pm   2019-11-24 21:41:33.886964519 +1100
+++ /usr/share/perl5/EBox/DNS.pm   2019-10-29 10:02:00.000000000 +1100
@@ -714,12 +714,6 @@
             "dns/named.conf.options.mas",
             \@array);
 
-    # Delete the already removed RR from dynamic and dlz zones
-    $self->_removeDeletedRR();
-
-    # Delete files from no longer used domains
-    $self->_removeDomainsFiles();
-
     # Hash to store the keys indexed by name, storing the secret
     my %keys = ();
     my @domainData = ();
@@ -759,6 +753,12 @@
         }
     }
 
+    # Delete the already removed RR from dynamic and dlz zones
+    $self->_removeDeletedRR();
+
+    # Delete files from no longer used domains
+    $self->_removeDomainsFiles();
+
     my @inaddrs;
     my $generateReverseZones = EBox::Config::boolean('generate_reverse_zones');
     if ($generateReverseZones) {
@@ -965,7 +965,6 @@
                 }
             }
             foreach my $cmd (@{$self->{nsupdateCmds}}) {
-                EBox::Sudo::root($cmd);
                 my ($filename) = $cmd =~ m:\s(.*?)$:;
                 # Remove the temporary file
                 unlink ($filename) if -f $filename;

TechnicalValues

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 6.1 DNS module issue - manual adding DNS record doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2019, 06:02:42 pm »
I am seeing the same issue with a 6.0 server that was recently updated to 6.1 -- Adding new entries makes them show up in the DNS mgmt UI, but they are not resolvable via ping or nslookup - even after full server reboot.

UPDATE: after adding the line pointed out by B8emg, creating DNS entries now works for foward lookup... unfortunately, no reverselookup.. is this also a regression?

Additional thread on this issue: Other Modules -- I did the 6.1 upgrade now anything added to DNS won't resolve

NOTE: I've just added GitHub issue with reference to this thread: https://github.com/zentyal/zentyal/issues/1925
« Last Edit: December 02, 2019, 07:51:35 pm by TechnicalValues »

ecc

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 6.1 DNS module issue - manual adding DNS record doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2019, 10:54:08 am »
We've got the same issue with 6.1 - after migrating it from and ADC to PDC it's still referencing the old DNS on the old PDC!!!

Really annoying.How do you fix this?

blorente

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Apprentice
  • *****
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +42/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 6.1 DNS module issue - manual adding DNS record doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2019, 11:54:36 am »
We are working on this, as soon as we have a fix we'll release it (I hope it occurs in a few hours, or 1 day in the worst)

many thanks for your reports guys
Zentyal Server Lead Developer

spst

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 6.1 DNS module issue - manual adding DNS record doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2019, 12:07:42 pm »
I upgraded my Zentyal 6.0.1 to 6.1 but it has failed.  :( All LDAP entries have disappeared I need to reinstall Zentyal. I installed a fresh Zentyal 6.1 but DNS resolution not works. The problem is the same. Forward lookup not works but reverse lookup works.

blorente

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Apprentice
  • *****
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +42/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 6.1 DNS module issue - manual adding DNS record doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2019, 10:46:00 pm »
Hi again,

The code that fix this issue have been published yet. You just need to install the dns 6.1.1 package to solve this issue.

Many thanks!
Zentyal Server Lead Developer

ecc

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 6.1 DNS module issue - manual adding DNS record doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2019, 10:27:38 am »
|That works - do a degree. The Authority section still points to the old DNS/AD server:
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:

How do we change that?