Author Topic: Standard Installation help  (Read 183 times)

tlaw

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Standard Installation help
« on: October 17, 2019, 01:29:36 am »
I've been playing around with Zentyal for almost a year now. I've upgraded to 6.0 but I cannot connect my desktops to my Zentyal domain, NOR can i understand why all the other Win10 computers want to use the Zentyal gateway/dns even though I havent any of them it. I also need help what the password would be connecting the Win10 PC's to the server... MAAaaannnnnn!!!! Driving me bonkers :o!! Please HELP!

basselope

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Standard Installation help
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2019, 12:05:30 pm »
What OS are your desktops using?
One of the limitations of Windows 10 Home vs Windows 10 Professional is the ability to join an AD domain.
With Windows 10 Home you may be able to use some resources on the domain (like connecting to a share with the domain user / password) but full domain membership won't be available.

When you set up Zentyal as a domain controller it is default behaviour to have dns running on it and becoming the gateway for your machines. You can use a different gateway and configure dns forwarders on Zentyal if you prefer to use another device.
As an example, you may want to configure your Zentyal local dns to hold the names and IPs of your machines, but configure one or more dns forwarders (say, Google's dns 8.8.8.8) so that any dns query that is not for your local machines can be resolved by Zentyal via the forwarders. Do this and your computers will be able to resolve both local and internet addresses.

If you are adding a Windows 10 Professional pc to the domain, you will need the Zentyal Administrator credentials to perform the domain join; after that you should be able to login to the pc with any of the users you have configured in the Zentyal Users and Computers module.

doncamilo

  • Zen Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Standard Installation help
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2019, 01:31:29 pm »
 :)

As basselope tells you, check your Windows 10 version.

You can create a new domain user and add him to the admins domain group in the webadmin. Use this user in order to join clients machines to the domain.

Cheers!

tlaw

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Standard Installation help
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2019, 02:20:57 am »
Thanks for the assist.
They're all Windows 10 Pro.
I'm coming from a Windows Server background but I wanted to use Zentyal as a DC strictly for our computer lab PC's and not anything outside of the room. Is that possible? would require logging all the lab's MAC address'?

I'm new to FORWARDING. Would I put in the IP of the router that has access to the NET

I figured it was the local admin password but that wouldn't work.

Should I have to go into each PC's IPv4 settings and set the DNS to the Zentyal IP for them to connect to the server domain?

basselope

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Standard Installation help
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2019, 11:56:10 am »
DNS forwarders:

If you use your router to resolve internet addresses and your machines need to access the internet, then yes: add the router address as dns forwarder in Zentyal's dns settings if a major internet dns server (or your provider's) cannot be reached directly.
"The server will send the queries to the forwarders first, and if not answered it will attempt to answer the query."

Where are your pcs getting ip address from?
If DHCP is configured on Zentyal, they should not need local configuration for dns resolution - they would receive it directly from Zentyal's DHCP.
If DHCP is assigned by the router, they will need local configuration OR the router can be configured to pass Zentyal dns address automatically to internal machines.
If IP is assigned manually (no DHCP), they will need local configuration.

If you set up Zentyal with the default user "ubuntu" and did not set up a separate account for Zentyal domain administration, you may automatically have a Domain administrator account called "Administrator" with the same password you set up for ubuntu user.

doncamilo

  • Zen Warrior
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Standard Installation help
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2019, 04:09:19 pm »
 :)

You have to create a domain using a local domain name as "lab.lan". Use the firewall in order to forbid undesired traffic through the external interface or better, if you manage the network, configure a VLAN (for instance) and isolate the lab environment from the rest of the network...  Use DHCP only in the "internal" interface in order to configure your client machines and...  go on!

There's lots of possibilities!

Tell us about your needs or, please, particularize the problem a little.

Cheers!