Author Topic: SSH login in as a ebox user  (Read 9565 times)

jsievert

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
SSH login in as a ebox user
« on: September 03, 2008, 11:49:12 pm »
I am VERY new to ebox.  I have just set up a new ubuntu 8.04 server and installed 0.12 ebox.  I have just setup the file sharing and a few users/groups and now I am looking to log in as one of those users via ssh but when I try all I get is access denied.  Looking at getent the users that I created are coming though.  Any thoughts? 

sixstone

• Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
    • Sixstone's blog
Re: SSH login in as a ebox user
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2008, 10:04:58 am »
The users that you have created don't have access to eBox machine but only in Samba shares and remote authentication.

I'm afraid to tell you we have not integrated LDAP users in eBox to log in eBox machine itself :(.

Best regards,
My secret is my silence...

jsievert

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2008, 09:34:47 pm »
Any thoughts on adding this.  Ebox is the best thing that I have seen so far for setting up LDAP and samba.  I would like to use the ldap users for logging in locally if possible or having another ubuntu box use the ldap user info for logins with nfs mounted home dir's.

Thanks for the wonderful software!

javi

• Zen Hero
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2008, 04:03:27 pm »
Any thoughts on adding this.  Ebox is the best thing that I have seen so far for setting up LDAP and samba.  I would like to use the ldap users for logging in locally if possible or having another ubuntu box use the ldap user info for logins with nfs mounted home dir's.

Actuall, yes, there are plans to do this. We haven't had time to do it yet.

If you or any of the users wants to step up and help us do this by setting up this configuration from a configuration generated by eBox and writing down the steps, it would be great :)

jsievert

• Zen Apprentice