Author Topic: [Zentyal 5] File Sharing - users able to delete read-only folders/files  (Read 912 times)

ppereira

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I installed a Zentyal 5.0 and set as PDC and with the file sharing module.

I set up a few users and assign groups in "User & Computers" AD.
For example, user A in Group A and user B in Group B.

I configure a new share folder with the following permissions to groups:
  - Group A: read & write
  - Group B: Read only

Everything works as should be unless if i am authenticated with user B i can delete files/folders in share folder... even if the file/folder is owned by user A.

Its not supposed to act like this...

Anyone can help?

thanks

PeterVance

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Zentyal 5] File Sharing - users able to delete read-only folders/files
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2021, 01:31:22 pm »
This might be a problem caused by the program you installed. If you work a lot with pieces of information and especially files and folders sharing them and all of that you should start secure document management. I had problems similar to yours and after I began to use Future Vault I forgot about those headaches. You can try it too or search up other platforms but I can't guarantee they will work out as well as this one. On top of that, if you have kids this platform will give you the privacy you need and all the data from your computer/laptop will be more than protected.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2021, 01:22:12 pm by PeterVance »