Author Topic: No Internet, DNS not resolving  (Read 2153 times)

vbn

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
No Internet, DNS not resolving
« on: July 28, 2017, 06:44:56 pm »
I have just installed server, all modules have been activated basics as follows:
Zentyal 5, eth0 external DHCP, eth1 internal fixed, DNS transparent ticked, proxy also transparent. Eth0 is connected to cable modem with ISP specifics,  Eth1 is connected to router which is now just a switch. Other computers can access server, but have no internet access (browser blames DNS). You can, however, access internet through Administration interface.
I am almost ready to chuck it and try if I can get Nethserver to work for me.
VBN

vbn

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Re: No Internet, DNS not resolving
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2017, 11:49:25 pm »
Should add, as you may already have deduced, that I am new to this and don't really know what I am doing.  I am coming from Microsoft Small Business Server 2011 which pretty much handled all this stuff automatically.  Also, one of the items connected to my router is my VOIP system, so every time I mess with this phone service is lost.
I anyone have any suggestions I would sure appreciate it.
Thanks

johnakki

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2017, 09:59:33 pm »
Can I assume that you've added some forwarders under DNS / Forwarders in the Zentyal admin console? If not, then that's your problem. Add 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (Google DNS) for testing's sake, but ideally I would strongly recommend that you use OpenNIC servers: https://www.opennic.org/ (you'll see four IP addresses under the "find out more" button.
Assuming that your clients are Windows;
* open a command prompt on one of them, type the following and press enter. This tests DNS resolution against your client's default DNS server:
* nslookup bbc.co.uk
Now try again and explicitly provide the address of your Zentyal server to look up against