Author Topic: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain  (Read 1715 times)

johanp

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« on: January 30, 2017, 02:09:38 pm »
Hi guys,

I'm getting a "RPC server not available" error when I try to join a brand new windows 10 laptop to my domain. I get the error after entering auth details on windows.

Using Zentyal 3.3.10 and there are other Win10 pc's connected to the domain.

Any ideas?
« Last Edit: January 30, 2017, 02:16:29 pm by johanp »

Joan Marc Guillamon

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2017, 03:05:20 pm »
Hello johanp,

Is your new laptop resolving the server's hostname by DNS? You can try the nslookup command in your laptop.

Code: [Select]
nslookup hostname
RPC errors are usually related to DNS problems.

johanp

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2017, 03:19:56 pm »
Yes it is...

zentyal-domain.lan resolves fine.

Joan Marc Guillamon

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2017, 03:52:28 pm »
Have you tried to change the primary DNS server of the client? Try using the server's address. Also try disabling the ipv6 from the client.

johanp

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2017, 03:59:49 pm »
I have now set the DNS, gateway and wins to the server's address and I have disabled IPV6. No change...

johanp

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2017, 04:43:30 pm »
Perhaps there have been some updates to Win10 that could affect joining the domain, as the other pc's on the domain were not added too recently?

Joan Marc Guillamon

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2017, 05:49:38 pm »
I had a similar problem with a Win2003 Domain Server, changing the DNS Primary Server and changing the IP settings to IPV4 solved the problem. Nevertheless weeks after that I tried to add another PC (With the latest win10 build) and i could not get it to work. So my guess is that newer versions of Windows 10 are changing some network settings and protocols. What I did that time was downgrade the Windows10 to an earlier release and it worked. Maybe you should try updating Zentyal to the latest version.

Edit
Perhaps there have been some updates to Win10 that could affect joining the domain, as the other pc's on the domain were not added too recently?
Yup, exactly what i was saying (got little time to write and sometimes i start a message at 3:10 and end it at 3:55  :-X )
« Last Edit: January 30, 2017, 08:11:55 pm by Joan Marc Guillamon »

johanp

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2017, 08:08:45 pm »
I will spend a bit more time trying to get it to work and hope that others might have had the same issue and perhaps a solution. If all else fails, I'll have to look into what is involved in upgrading to the latest version of Zentyal.

Thank you for the replies so far...

Joan Marc Guillamon

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2017, 12:40:57 pm »
Well, I've been trying some things; I've been playing with Zentyal5 and the latest Win10 build and it had a connection problem (not the same but similar).

What I've done is to connect with and without the last DC (Domain component). In your case it is .lan, so you should try logging into "zentyal-domain.lan" and then "zentyal-domain". You can alternate between those until it connects. Don't ask why.. but it has worked for me this time.

It is Zentyal5 and the problem is not the same, I know... but well, you could give it a try if there is no other solution.

stangg

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to join brand new Win10 laptop to domain
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2017, 01:50:06 pm »
I had the same pb once.
As seen in the manual, I created a "dadmin" and evreything goes fine :

Quote
Once you have enabled Users, Computers and File Sharing you can provide File Sharing functionality,(...)

Probably, one of the first operations you need to perform in your domain is to create a user in the directory and join it to the *Domain Admins* group, this will give the user all the effective permissions over the domain.