Author Topic: How to enable IPv6  (Read 7095 times)

Dersch

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
How to enable IPv6
« on: August 24, 2016, 09:35:52 am »
Hi, i'm using IPv6. It is the standard today of course.

Unfortunatley Zentyal does not support IPv6 from the GUI.

So here you can enable it with SSH. Just replace em1 with your interface of choice.

In the /etc/network/interfaces you need to include

iface em1 inet6 auto

Code: [Select]
sysctl net.ipv6.conf.em1.disable_ipv6=0
sysctl net.ipv6.conf.em1.autoconf=1
sysctl net.ipv6.conf.em1.accept_ra=1
sysctl net.ipv6.conf.em1.accept_ra_defrtr=1

That is the manual way, it does not survive a reboot. How can you change this with stub files permanently?

julio

  • Guest
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 10:04:49 am »
Hi Dersch,

You don't need stubs for this,
add your lines to '/etc/sysctl.conf', thats it!
Code: [Select]
net.ipv6.conf.em1.disable_ipv6 = 0
net.ipv6.conf.em1.autoconf = 1
net.ipv6.conf.em1.accept_ra = 1
net.ipv6.conf.em1.accept_ra_defrtr = 1

After add, reload the sysctl with:
Code: [Select]
sudo sysctl -p
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 10:06:22 am by julio »

Dersch

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2016, 10:17:54 am »
great! Thank you Julio. Always great help from your side!

But one question more about /etc/network/interfaces

I have a custom config with bridges. But after a reboot zentyal overwrite it with the gui settings.
I have to activate it manually. I think there i need stubs? How can i include permanently my custom settings?
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 10:22:04 am by Dersch »

julio

  • Guest
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2016, 11:00:05 am »
yes, you are right, for '/etc/network/interfaces', you need stubs.

copy the original stub to customizable place:
Code: [Select]
sudo mkdir -p /etc/zentyal/stubs/network
sudo cp /usr/share/zentyal/stubs/network/interfaces.mas /etc/zentyal/stubs/network/interfaces.mas

add your custom things to the '/etc/zentyal/stubs/network/interfaces.mas',
but first please post your custom '/etc/network/interfaces' content.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 11:01:56 am by julio »

Dersch

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2016, 11:02:56 am »
Ah ok, i need to read more about stubs. Seems not so complicated.

Here is my config:

Code: [Select]
cat /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo em1 br0 br1 vlan13 vlan14 vlan15

iface lo inet loopback

iface em1 inet6 auto

iface em1 inet static
      address 192.168.10.1
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      broadcast 192.168.10.255


iface br1 inet manual
      bridge_ports p1p1
      bridge_fd 9
      bridge_hello 2
      bridge_maxage 12
      bridge_stp off


iface br0 inet static
      address 10.10.2.2
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      broadcast 10.10.2.255
      gateway 10.10.2.1
      bridge_ports em2
      bridge_stp off
      bridge_maxwait 0
      bridge_fd 0


iface vlan13 inet static
vlan-raw-device p1p2
      address 192.168.13.2
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      broadcast 192.168.13.255


iface vlan14 inet static
vlan-raw-device p1p2
      address 192.168.14.2
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      broadcast 192.168.14.255


The custom part is br0, br1 (for VM) and the IPv6 for em1.

Dersch

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2016, 11:49:31 am »
I checked the content of the interfaces.mas file. OK that's too complicated to understand for me  :-\
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 12:05:20 pm by Dersch »

julio

  • Guest
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2016, 01:26:24 pm »
which zentyal version running on your server? 4.2?
custom part is this? (marked)

auto lo em1 br0 br1 vlan13 vlan14 vlan15

iface lo inet loopback

iface em1 inet6 auto

iface em1 inet static
      address 192.168.10.1
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      broadcast 192.168.10.255


iface br1 inet manual
      bridge_ports p1p1
      bridge_fd 9
      bridge_hello 2
      bridge_maxage 12
      bridge_stp off



iface br0 inet static
      address 10.10.2.2
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      broadcast 10.10.2.255
      gateway 10.10.2.1
      bridge_ports em2
      bridge_stp off
      bridge_maxwait 0
      bridge_fd 0



iface vlan13 inet static
vlan-raw-device p1p2
      address 192.168.13.2
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      broadcast 192.168.13.255


iface vlan14 inet static
vlan-raw-device p1p2
      address 192.168.14.2
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      broadcast 192.168.14.255

Dersch

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2016, 01:27:11 pm »
Yes 4.2 and yes marked is the customisation

julio

  • Guest
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2016, 05:59:07 pm »
please check the 'br0' settings, the 'em2', missing the interface section 'iface em2 inet manual'.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 06:08:31 pm by julio »

Dersch

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2016, 06:07:15 pm »
Hi Julio, that's ok. It is working correctly like i posted.

julio

  • Guest
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2016, 06:11:58 pm »
ok, working, but missing...

backup your original '/etc/networking/interfaces' file and check with the attached file.

Dersch

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #11 on: August 24, 2016, 07:36:50 pm »
After the reboot all interfaces are still there and the vm started correctly as well.

But the /etc/network/interfaces is again reverted to the gui settings without my custom entries. Is that correct?

julio

  • Guest
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2016, 07:56:27 pm »
not really correct...
the attached mas file in '/etc/zentyal/stubs/network' directory?

Dersch

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2016, 07:57:17 pm »
yes i included it

julio

  • Guest
Re: How to enable IPv6
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2016, 08:13:27 pm »
please check the '/var/log/zentyal/zentyal.log', you can see, the custom stubs applied?