Author Topic: Sieve configuration information needed.  (Read 2569 times)

tokerau

Sieve configuration information needed.
« on: April 21, 2016, 07:34:28 am »
This is the first time I've worked with sieve. I have installed Zentyal 4.2 successfully, and now I want to configure the spam filters. I am somewhat new to linux, and quite new to email servers.
I have done some reading on how to set up sieve, and there are many examples of the plugin in the dovecot.conf file, and I can do that. Then there are examples of simple filter scripts that move tagged messages into the Spam directory. There are two things that they don't seem to articulate:
1. These scripts are just files, correct? Is there a certain naming convention that I should follow?
2. I don't know where to put the filter scripts files so sieve can find and execute them. Where should they be stored? Once they are stored in the right place, is there something to make sieve know they are there?
Thanks for any help you can give.

tokerau

[SOLVED] Sieve configuration information needed.
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2016, 09:43:27 pm »
I see that no one responded. After a lot of research and testing this is what I've learned:

the plugin settings are contained in /etc/dovecot/dovecot.conf

However, those are generated by Zentyal, so any changes you make in that file may go away next time Zentyal updates the settings. So you have to put the settings in the templace file which is located here:

/usr/share/zentyal/stubs/mail/dovecot.conf.mas

It's a bit tricky to find the spot in the file because it is just the template.
Here is what I did:

##
## Plugin settings
##
plugin {
  quota = maildir:User quota
  quota_rule = *:storage=0

sieve = /var/vmail/%Ld/%Ln/user.sieve
  sieve_global_path = /var/vmail/default.sieve
  sieve_storage = /var/vmail/%Ld/%Ln
  sieve_dir     = /var/vmail/%Ld/%Ln
  sieve_before = /var/vmail/default.sieve
  sieve_after = /var/vmail/%Ld/%Ln/user.sieve
}

Here is what it means: