Author Topic: Is there a Graphical Interface loaded with teh standard eBox debian distibution?  (Read 1787 times)

BillF

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
I'm fairly new to the Linux world so much easier to do things from the graphical interface. I tried apt-get install x-window-system but it said that it was not available from this source?

Also, I have two network cards in the box and have one connected to the outside world (eth0) at least from ifconfig that is what it looks like, then I want eth1 connected to my internal router. I did ifconfig 192.168.2.2 to assign the IP address to eth1 but I can't ping that address from an internal machine. If I reboot the system the change is lost. I had looged on a root and tried editing #vi /etc/network/interfaces but when I tried saving the file it said that it was read only. Do I need to change the attribute of the file?

Is there something else necessary?
« Last Edit: April 26, 2008, 10:39:18 pm by BillF »

sixstone

• Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
    • View Profile
    • Sixstone's blog
I'm fairly new to the Linux world so much easier to do things from the graphical interface. I tried apt-get install x-window-system but it said that it was not available from this source?
You need to change the source list in /etc/apt/sources.list to add the following line:
Code: [Select]
deb http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian sarge main contrib
Then run the following commands to install, for example Gnome or KDE graphic environment:
Code: [Select]
# apt-get update
 # apt-get install gnome/kde