Author Topic: Changin NetBIOS domain name in Zentyal 4.1 deleting all domain users  (Read 1318 times)

murz

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
I need to change NetBIOS domain name in Zentyal 4.1 system with already created users.
Before apply changes I see warning:
Quote
Changing the domain name will cause to reprovision the samba database. The users and groups will be imported from Zentyal LDAP, but you will have to rejoin all computers to the new domain.
It's ok that I must rejoin computers, and good that users and groups will be imported.

But when I apply changes, I see empty list in Users!
Why user database is lost? How I can restore users database?

davidt

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Changin NetBIOS domain name in Zentyal 4.1 deleting all domain users
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2015, 07:32:41 am »
Hi Murz,

You cannot I have tried to find a way as it did it to me constantly, thankfully this was not on a production server but it was still frustrating none-the-less.

You might want to consider that before doing that, you should make a backup of the configuration before committing to changes like that.

Cheers,

David.

jbahillo

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1444
  • Karma: +77/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Changin NetBIOS domain name in Zentyal 4.1 deleting all domain users
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2015, 10:11:48 am »
This is because in order to apply this change samba needs to be reprovisioned, as this value is stored on several (lots of) samba dfatabases and if not, it would be impossible to change it