Author Topic: samba config not controlled by ebox?  (Read 1690 times)

tankduck

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
samba config not controlled by ebox?
« on: November 11, 2008, 09:27:12 pm »

Hi,
bit of a strange problem, well very strange to me but I'm a noob on this. I created all my users and shares in ebox, testing them with a username I gave access to the shares. I then editted the smb.conf file (the actual samba one in etc/samba/) so that it showed logon.vbs instead of bat for the logon script. Now basically I am having issues with the users access of the shares. I put all the users in a group, and gave the group access to the shares. The original test username can still do everything fine, however the other users that have been added to the group cannot access shares with their username/passwords. In ebox if I change a users password it changes it for when it logs onto the domain, however I assume ebox is not telling samba that this group can access these shares. If I open smb.conf then I see that the test username is the only one listed under 'valid users'.

Heeeelp.

Thanking everyone in advance, as i'm getting in trouble for this :(

p.s. would this be a reason for the profiles (except the test profile) not being able to get their roaming profiles off the server?

Thanks again

tankduck

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Re: samba config not controlled by ebox?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2008, 11:16:55 am »
ok, after manually adding permissions on samba.conf last night to allow users to get into file shares (this was not overwritten upon restart, which I thought was supposed to happen) everything worked, roaming profiles didn't work properly, don't know if that had anything to do with it. Am I best off noting down all the settings for ebox and formatting and reinstalling?

javi

• Zen Hero
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2008, 11:25:19 am »
Hi,