Author Topic: Zentyal 4 External interface lockout  (Read 2042 times)

it_aaronc

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Zentyal 4 External interface lockout
« on: September 11, 2014, 05:18:55 pm »
I'm experimenting with Zentyal 4 on a VPS that only has one network interface, and I've stumbled across a nightly build dragon I think, though likely one specific to the vps configuration. Initial configuration went better than 3.5 on the linode, but after I set it up, I went in to mark the interface as the external, thinking I'd use an ssh tunnel to access it. Not a bad plan, one I could definitely live with the trouble for not having to fight microsoft licensing.... except it killed ssh access, and as of yet, using the KVM access to the machine, I've not figured out how...

I admit, I'm a bit of a rookie with IPTables, but I don't see anything that's targeting SSH directly. SSHd still seems to be running just fine, so I was hoping someone might happen to know how to reverse this change just for ssh. I wondered if I should submit some sort of bug report noting that VPS users might need an option to not disable everything for us wacky  use cases, but at the moment I'd just as happily settle for "it's a nightly build, fix it manually" as long as I could get an idea where that fix needed applied :)

Oh yeah, OS wise it's ubuntu server 14.04. I'm going to keep trying to figure it out myself, and if I do I will post it here, but though my linux fu is far beyond what it was a decade ago, unless good sir google deems fit to accept my pitiful exhortations and yield up a lead, don't know that I'm expecting to nail this one without more expert help (especially after an hour of trying different searches & suggestions already).

Torsten73

• Zen Warrior
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 4 External interface lockout
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2014, 09:54:19 pm »