Author Topic: Samba Drive-letter  (Read 1522 times)

koenraad

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Samba Drive-letter
« on: June 10, 2014, 12:42:50 pm »
Hi,

I'm new with zentyal.
I successfully configured zentyal 3.4 to be a domain-controller (test-setup for now). One thing I can't configure though, is the drive letter, the letter of the "home-share" of a user. I would like it to be "F". Unfortunately, the choice starts with "H". My users are used to use the f-drive, so I would like to keep it that way.
In this forum I found an old topic (about 2009) about this. I could try to do it that way, but one of the remarks was that updates did undo the modification.
Is there a new way to do this ? Since I'm not adding new users all the time, it's a minor annoyance.

Koenraad

royceb

Re: Samba Drive-letter
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2014, 02:46:44 am »
Usually this is set by you as you map the network drive to the windows machine.  I'd say the only requirement is that you don't have a device occupying F already (if so you will want to de-associate it and then remap the device).

koenraad

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2014, 09:09:42 am »
It seems I did not explain wel enough.
See the screenshot what I mean with drive H.

robb

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2014, 04:51:36 pm »
Then don't use the option that is used in Zentyal admin page but map your own driveletter(s) using a login script.

StuartNaylor

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2014, 05:20:47 pm »
http://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Setting_up_a_home_share

log on to one of your clients as a domain admin and have a look at what the profile details are in AD users and computers.

koenraad

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2014, 08:05:41 am »
I know I can modify the home-share from a windows-computer, using the user-settings.