Author Topic: Zentyal 3.4 install  (Read 1287 times)

peterdcross

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Zentyal 3.4 install
« on: May 29, 2014, 02:05:13 pm »
I am new to Zental and have downloaded the Zentyal Server 3.4 community edition and tried to install it in workstation v10.
I have various flavours of Linux currently install so the process is familiar.
The problem I have is every document I see starts at the successful boot of Zentyal into a GUI.
My experience it is booting into command line. I can login but it stops there.
I install Ubuntu Server and tried to the install from the CD (an iso mounted in reality)  all the file are present, but I cannot find instructions on this method of install, tons on YouTube etc. but none dealing with v3.4. So my question is: Does it work? if not where can I download a previous version?

it_admin

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
Re: Zentyal 3.4 install
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2014, 02:23:48 pm »
It very well might be your system hardware causing the problem.  We were unable to install Zentyal on a brand new Lenovo server.  We ended up loading CentOS on the system, and loading Zentyal as a virtual machine.  They seem to have some issues with their video drivers.  A separate stand alone install on an 7 year old Dell Poweredge server went better for us.

Zentyal is a great protect, but still in its infancy.  It will be through folks like us reporting what we see, to make it better.

Kind regards,
Brian

peterdcross

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2014, 02:32:53 pm »
The install is in workstation V10, a virtualised environment therefore it is not the hardware, I have Fedora, Debian, Ubuntu (workstation and Server)and Centos running without any problems. The command line of Zentyal is :

Ubuntu 13.10 zentyal ttyl.....
zentyal login:

Which accepts a login but stays at the commandline interface.

ergo it is not loading Zentyal, hence my question Does it work?
Accepting that previous versions do.