Author Topic: ldap passwords and master/slave  (Read 2539 times)

peterr

• Zen Monk
    • View Profile
ldap passwords and master/slave
« on: November 02, 2009, 01:09:56 pm »
Can someone help me understand what is going as I am confused over how the passwords work with ldap?
I have successfully wrecked several servers already so I have had lots of experience now at installing ebox1.3!!
Until recently I had 3 ebox servers running with one master and 2 slaves - the slaves were linked using the password stored in /var/lib/ebox/conf/ebox-ldap.passwd not the ldap admin password entered during installation.
What are these two passwords, why are they different and when is one used rather than the other?  This bit really puzzles me - I am quite happy to use this one here and that one there but would like to know why (I know, curiosity killed the cat).

I was just trying to get a linux client to authenticate against the ldap master (worked ok with a windows client) but it did not work - big mistake, I ran dpkg-reconfigure slapd to find out if I was using the right dn.  I was but this killed the ldap!  I reinstalled ubuntu and ebox (never managed to clear out usersandgroups without a full reinstall of the server) and this time round my server asked about linking to a ldap server for authentication (never done that before). I ignored this and carried on and ended up with a working usersandgroups on my new master but now the slaves don't sync to it.  I looked in /var/lib/ebox/conf to see if the password was different to last time but I have no ebox-ldap.passwd this time.

I decided to try dpkg-reconfigure slapd again and see what happened - Yup it broke usersandgroups again! oops!

So, any idea how to replace a busted ldap master and get it to sync with 2 existing slaves?

ps (I am still smiling, I know this is only beta software)
pps (I guess I am going to know a lot about ebox installation by the time I finish)

peterr

• Zen Monk
    • View Profile