Author Topic: Thinclient question  (Read 2750 times)

jac378

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Thinclient question
« on: June 27, 2013, 07:35:21 pm »
Hi,

I have setup zentyal and all is nice. The thinclient boots up fine and I included testdisk on it, but when I try to run it on the thinclient terminal it asks for a sudo password, none works, how do I enable that?

Thanks

half_life

  • Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2013, 12:30:18 am »
When you say terminal,  do you mean the initial login screen? Or after you login and open a terminal is it asking then?  If it is the second option,  is it saying something like user not in sudoers file ?

jac378

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2013, 03:51:46 pm »
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.
Its the second option, I have added to the thinclient the testdisk application and when I run it from the terminal in the thinclient environment it says that this application needs to be run with sudo..etc...

I do sudo testdisk, it ask for the sudo password and none works, not even the first password for the admin that we create on the initial Zentyal installation.

And this happens with any application that needs elevated privileges,  remember I am using the Administrator account and also any new user that belongs to admin....it simply says incorrect password.

The sudo testdisk (or any other) works fine on the server with these user/passwords that I have.

Thanks

half_life

  • Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2013, 02:56:00 am »
When you login, you use a user name and password.  That user must be in the admin group (unix group) to be able to execute root privileges.  The user you created when you installed Zentyal has those privileges. Login with that user and open a command prompt.  Run sudo testdisk and enter the same password that you used to login with.

Forgive me if that is what you have done, I am just covering the bases.

jac378

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2013, 03:46:36 am »
Yes, I have done.

This is when I boot up a computer with PXE, I get the thinclient Ubuntu Environment. I go to terminal I run sudo testdisk it ask for sudo password, I type the one you are referring to and it say incorrect.

I do it three times and the same .... I have enabled PAM (I think its called) and created a new admin account (new user), I boot up the computer PXE, get the GUI..sudo testdisk..same error.....


half_life

  • Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2013, 03:54:32 am »
Ok,  lets try this go to the physical machine and type in the following
Code: [Select]
sudo group -a sudo <your user name here>

This will give the named user the equivalent rights as root.

Then try the same tests as before on the thin client.

jac378

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2013, 03:58:49 am »

Oh I am at home, I am connected via VPN I can only ssh that but I wont be able to see if it works.....

I guess I will have to wait till tomorrow...!@#

jac378

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2013, 04:01:23 am »
I ssh and it says:

sudo: group: command not found

half_life

  • Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2013, 04:53:29 am »
Sorry ...  embarrassed look. 

usermod -a -G sudo <user name>


ETA: the -G option.   I normally use a text editor directly on the group file instead of the command.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2013, 04:45:57 pm by half_life »

jac378

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2013, 04:46:26 pm »
Thanks,

When I run


usermod -a sudo jcanepa

I get the list of option for the usermod command..

jac378

  • Zen Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2013, 07:14:39 pm »
can this help me?

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuLTSP/UnlockChrootRootAcct


what I dont understand is if I have to run that on the server terminal..

half_life

  • Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2013, 07:54:21 pm »
Not necessary.  This is my home system and I have performed a network boot on a virtualbox VM.  I have logged in with the user that I created when I installed Zentyal.  I opened a terminal and ran the command sudo su (gain root privilege and keep it).

As you can see,  it lets me run the sudo command

half_life

  • Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2013, 07:57:19 pm »
This is the same general setup except I have logged in as a general user.

half_life

  • Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2013, 08:02:26 pm »
Now I have added the user to the sudo group (note that you need to logout and log back in to gain the new privilege)

See that it now lets me.

half_life

  • Bug Hunter
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Thinclient question
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2013, 08:20:25 pm »
Given the close proximity in time between our posts you may have missed where I corrected the command line.  I usually just open a text editor and modify the group file. 

The correct command is

usermod -a -G sudo jcanepa