Author Topic: Maximum number of users reached  (Read 8824 times)

mgiammarco

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2012, 05:04:50 pm »
Thank for replies.
I have just stripped spaces and unfortunately the result is the same :-(

I do not understand the algorithm. If it takes MAX+1 and not reuses ids anyway I start with an empty ldap and I mass insert 1000 users. Last id should around 1000-2000 not 65000, right?

Thanks for your interest.

Mario

christian

  • Guest
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2012, 06:35:40 pm »
yes and no. I mean that you can't (should not) start with first uidnumber = 1.
This aside, you're pretty right: importing 1000 accounts should not generate high uidnumbers if algorithm is "higher + 1"
« Last Edit: November 17, 2012, 01:23:29 am by christian »

mgiammarco

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #17 on: November 16, 2012, 07:38:15 pm »
Can not change the UIDs of your users  in the file your feed to the script?
I do not send uid to zentyal, only name, login and few other things. I have tried to manipulate by hand with directorystudio the uid greater than 100000 but without luck. I modified ldap on port 390 it seems that I should also modify ldap on port 389. But I have no password for it.

mgiammarco

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #18 on: November 20, 2012, 09:21:30 am »
Ok looking at source code I have found the way to pass user id when inserting users.
So I have added about 1300 users from 2000 to around 3300.
But guess what? From web interface I cannot add users anymore because I have again maximum numbers of users reached.
So the situation is this:

1) I install zentyal, and configure default user
2) I add 1300 users
3) I try to add a windows client to domain and I discover that default user has disappeared. I mean that it can be used only to login in zentyal and not as a domain admin. It also does not appear anymore in the users list.
4) I have to add another domain user to add windows client. I have to add it via perl script specyfying an id because adding via web interface does not work anymore.

May I ask you if anyone is using zentyal with more than.... 100 users?

Thanks,
Mario

christian

  • Guest
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #19 on: November 20, 2012, 09:29:55 am »
What is "default user" ?
Zentyal admin account you created during installation process?

mgiammarco

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #20 on: November 20, 2012, 09:50:52 am »
What is "default user" ?
Zentyal admin account you created during installation process?

Yes

christian

  • Guest
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #21 on: November 20, 2012, 10:00:47 am »
I'm surprised because I don't think (I might be wrong however) that such account ever appeared in user list.
This is a local account (at OS level) not LDAP account.
It aims at managing Zentyal.
This is perhaps different with Zentyal 3.0 but I doubt: local account is required in order to access Zentyal before you start configuring accounts.

mgiammarco

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #22 on: November 20, 2012, 10:12:20 am »
I'm surprised because I don't think (I might be wrong however) that such account ever appeared in user list.


Ok if this is a chosen behaviour all is fine.
Anyway the crazy uid number problem persists.
I do not understand the algorithm.
I supposed that, if my last user inserted was 2300, the web interface will insert new user as 2301.

christian

  • Guest
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #23 on: November 20, 2012, 10:26:41 am »
I never looked at the algorithm use to generate "uidnumber" and would not care that much until this is proven that issue you face with account limitation is due to this algorithm.

Problem, unless I misunderstand your explanations, is that your are testing in different direction which makes, at least form my side, things a bit confused.
What I would like to understand is whenever there is any limitation when you create accounts, either manually or using script.
When I say account, I mean Zentyal basic account.
If "file sharing" module is installed, this should also create accounts in the "Samba LDAP" repository.

Then "adding account" to Zentyal "domain" (Samba DC) which is in fact also  having new workstation joining this domain, is another topic.

mgiammarco

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #24 on: November 20, 2012, 11:32:51 am »
How can I reply.

Use case: use zentyal as windows domain controller. Too many users to add one by one.

Solution: install zentyal with file sharing module. Use the perl script in zentyal web site to mass add users.

Result: it does not work: error "maximum number of users reached". Cannot add other users with script or web interface.

Debug: some users get a crazy uid greater than 100000.

Tried work around: modify script to force uid (after reinstalling from scratch).

Debug: insert users with web interface still not working.

Mario



christian

  • Guest
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #25 on: November 20, 2012, 11:47:29 am »
Your explanation is clear and it looks like a bug.
Why not, if not already done, creating ticket where you can explain the very detail of what you did as workaround ?

mgiammarco

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #26 on: November 20, 2012, 12:08:11 pm »
Usually before opening a bug I ask the forum.

Now I go and open it.

Thanks,
Mario

Javier Amor Garcia

  • Zentyal Staff
  • Zen Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1225
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #27 on: November 21, 2012, 11:36:28 am »
As I told in the ticket I was under the false impression that only around 100 users were added so I thinked it was a uid problem. But if they are 500 users or so ther is the LDAP max search default value. The ticket URL: http://trac.zentyal.org/ticket/5665#comment:1

christian

  • Guest
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #28 on: November 21, 2012, 11:41:29 am »
Sure but sizelimit is now supposed to be 20000 according to previous post in this thread  ;)
Is this sizelimit value something you may erase and replace when Zentyal restarts (which mean something slightly more complex than changing cn=config)  ???

mgiammarco

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum number of users reached
« Reply #29 on: November 23, 2012, 11:22:46 pm »
In any case, why you do not try to insert 1000 users in zentyal?
Use the perl code in the wiki and try yourself.

Thank you very much again.

Mario