Author Topic: [SOLVED] Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf ??  (Read 20192 times)

codedmind

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #60 on: September 20, 2012, 10:08:48 pm »
dns as client

127.0.0.1 (mandatory
8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4

dns server:
still dinamic and
Enable transparent DNS cache checked

dhcp server
dns 1: zentyal
dns 2 empty

christian

  • Guest
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #61 on: September 20, 2012, 10:20:11 pm »
ok, then try after you have renewed DHCP lease of client you want to reach or test.
You can check in syslog that request is performed to update DNS content.

codedmind

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #62 on: September 20, 2012, 10:27:47 pm »
Now i can't force none dhcl client to renew the ip...

For the servers (static ip) what dns they should use? zentyal and empty too ??

In zentyal where i can see a table (if exists) of ips from dns cache ... or i can't?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2012, 10:31:58 pm by codedmind »

codedmind

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #63 on: September 20, 2012, 10:48:33 pm »
Well no juice i can start up a virtual machine and i think now its fine and working.

the first nslookup return an error but in the second try it work

Tomorrow i will confirm with all other computers...

Thanks again to all

christian

  • Guest
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #64 on: September 21, 2012, 07:04:01 am »
Please once you have confirmed it works, edit the very first post of this very long thread and modify subject, inserting [SOLVED] as explained [ur=http://forum.zentyal.org/index.php/topic,4139.0.htmll]here[/url].

I hope you learned, during this investigation, as much as I did  :)
It's always amazing, at least from my side, to realize after lot of exchange, that technical problem was very simple but the two main issues are, as often, communication and alignment regarding basic concepts (here: how DNS works).
If you look carefully at what you have now in term of design, this is no more nor less than what standard documentation describes  ;D

Keep in mind limitation I raised about Samba and .local TLD  8)

codedmind

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #65 on: September 21, 2012, 09:05:45 am »
Hy there.

Every computer can ping and hostname too. The problem, none of them can surf the web, only if i disable transparent proxy :/

But i need transparent proxy :/

christian

  • Guest
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #66 on: September 21, 2012, 09:10:19 am »
how do you "disable" transparent proxy?

(I know this is not always easy but in order to save us time, could you please try to be more accurate: e.g. here, do you mean switch from transparent to explicit proxy or stop proxy service?)

codedmind

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #67 on: September 21, 2012, 09:13:51 am »
I go into http proxy settings and uncheck
Transparent Proxy:   

christian

  • Guest
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #68 on: September 21, 2012, 09:18:45 am »
and doing this, you can access internet from your LAN ?

This means that either your firewall authorizes HTTP flow or than your client is configured to use proxy.
It would help if you could translate the "none of them can surf the web" into something more technical like an error message or browser behaviour  ;)

I first though that it could be again DNS issue but if you can surf bypassing proxy thanks to permissive FW rules, it means that you client is have to resolve external names. BTW, could you please perform this test (e.g. nslookup www.zentyal.org)

codedmind

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #69 on: September 21, 2012, 09:26:35 am »
Erro 102 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED): O servidor recusou a conexão.

christian

  • Guest
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #70 on: September 21, 2012, 09:46:19 am »
hummm, are you trying to access HTTPS site ?
what is the URL, if I can ask?

codedmind

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #71 on: September 21, 2012, 09:54:11 am »
in that case is google.com...


After some time i go and activate again the proxy and loose all the access (even to zentyal) remove zentyal-proxy via terminal

Go to web gui add http proxy again, and now is working... even with http transparent proxy :| very weird...

I will keep monitoring this situation.

By now i can ping some hostnames from dhcpclient (brand ones) others no because must wait for new leases... (i went to one do a ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew) but the pc get the same old ip ... and i can't ping the hostname
« Last Edit: September 21, 2012, 09:59:30 am by codedmind »

christian

  • Guest
Re: Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf
« Reply #72 on: September 21, 2012, 09:58:08 am »
or you can wait for lease to be renewed automatically at 50% of lease life if you are not in a hurry (I hardly understand it can be that critical to have ALL workstations able to ping in a meshed way)

Please stamp this huge thread solved when it's solved (and I believe it is now)

codedmind

  • Zen Monk
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] Remove 127.0.0.1 from resolv.conf ??
« Reply #73 on: September 21, 2012, 10:09:16 am »
Thread solved.

Now waitting like you said for new leases...

Thanks too all one more time :)