Author Topic: How to use public ip for servers behind the zentyal box?  (Read 2734 times)

biswa4u

• Zen Apprentice
    • View Profile
How to use public ip for servers behind the zentyal box?
« on: June 05, 2012, 08:05:21 am »
Hi,

I am a novice using zentyal...

Anyone please suggest to solve the problem...

I have got a WAN ip with /30 subnet and the range of 6 public ip's with /29 subnet from ISP

My network scenerio is...

ISP
        |
      WAN
        |
   ZENTYAL
        |
      LAN (web server using those public ip's)

The ip address of Servers on LAN are not visible from outside... but I need it to be visible...

think... the Zentyal box NATed those public ip's too...

how to solve the problem? so that... "what is my ip" shows those public ip addresses asign to the servers...

currently "what is my ip" shows the public ip address of the WAN...

Thanks in advance...

Biswajit Das

christian

Re: How to use public ip for servers behind the zentyal box?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2012, 08:25:01 am »
I have got a WAN ip with /30 subnet and the range of 6 public ip's with /29 subnet from ISP
I don't understand this  :-[
You have only 2 IPs for the WAN and 6 from ISP... what doest it mean? That you have from ISP 6 IPS used for router(s) and then only 2 public IPs you can use behind this router(s)?  Please elaborate.

Then you also need to elaborate a it on why you need your internal IPs to be seen from outside. Either there is a specific valid reason (I've no doubt although I don't understand) or there is something you misunderstand.

If these "internal servers" need to be seen from outside, do not put them inside, this is as simple  ;)  Create DMZ using your /29 subnet and plug your servers there.

Then if goal is, as I suspect, to make these servers accessible from outside, there is no need to expose their IP address. All this "what my IP stuff" is useless.